Texas License to Carry Handgun Eligibility
A person is eligible for a license to carry a concealed handgun if the person:

  • is a legal resident of this state for the six-month period preceding the date of
    application.
  • is at least 21 years of age, (military 18 - 21 years old now eligible - 2005  Texas LTC law
    change).
  • has not been convicted of a felony.
  • is not charged with the commission of a felony, Class A or Class B misdemeanor,or
    Disorderly Conduct.
  • is not a fugitive from justice for a felony, Class A or Class B misdemeanor.
  • is not a chemically dependent person.
  • is not incapable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper  use and
    storage of a handgun.
  • has not, in the five years preceding the date of application, been convicted of a Class A
    or Class B misdemeanor or an offense under Disorderly Conduct, Section  42.01,  Penal
    Code.
  • is fully qualified under applicable federal and state law to purchase a handgun.
  • has not been finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money
    collected by the comptroller.
  • has not been finally determined to be in default on a student loan.
  • is not currently restricted under a court protective order subject to a restraining order  
    affecting a spousal relationship.
  • has not, in the 10 years preceding the date of application, been adjudicated as having  
    engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law in the grade of felony.
  • has not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in
    an  application submitted pursuant to Section 411.174 or in a request for application
    submitted pursuant to Section 411.175.
  • Direct any questions about eligibility to the DPS web-site www.txdps.state.tx.us

Handgun Handling Techniques Overview
Master techniques for fast and effective use of firearms Perform left and right handed
operations

Written Exam for Texas LTC
After all of you course instruction is completed, there will be an Exam Review of what was
taught. There will be a total of 25 Multiple Choices/True or False questions on the

exam.   Without any assistance from your instructor, you must complete the exam.

A score of 70%, or 18 correct questions of a possible 25 questions, is required to pass.

Range Qualifications for Texas LTC
A total of 50 rounds are fired during the course of the qualification test.

The target used is a B-27 which is a human-shaped silhouette target measuring 45 by 24
inches.

All shooting is from the ready position, which means the gun is already in your
hands and
aimed in
.

There are a maximum of 250 points available and a minimum score of 70% or 175 points, is
required to pass.
Course of Fire:
3 yard line - 20 shots:
1 shot in 2 seconds, 5 times
2 shots in 3 seconds, 5 times
5 shots in 10 seconds, once

7 yard line - 20 shots:
5 shots in 10 seconds, once
2 shots in 4 seconds, once
3 shots in 6 seconds, once
1 shot in 3 seconds, 5 times
5 shots in 15 seconds, once

15 yard line - 10 shots:
2 shots in 6 seconds, once
3 shots in 9 seconds, once
5 shots in 15 seconds, once
Protect Thyself Services (PTS)
Texas License to Carry Handgun /Basic Pistol / Personal Protection Instruction (Tarrant/Wise County)
LICENSE TO CARRY COURSE REQUIREMENTS
Website was designed by Protect Thyself Services.
A Proud Texas-Owned Company
Second Amendment Supporter